In the last two weeks, I’ve had Olympic fever. There’s something that comes over me when the Olympics are taking place. Every time I turn the TV on, the channels I’ve watched have consisted of NBC, and NBC Sports Network, the two major channels covering the Olympics. Every night after classes I watch the Olympics until I crawl into bed, usually at a time in the early hours of the morning. Actually, I just finished watching the United States vs. Canada men’s hockey game a few hours ago, and am now still currently watching the Olympics. It’s been exciting, to see the world’s greatest athletes compete in a winter wonderland atmosphere.

       There are a total of 15 Winter Olympic disciplines, and I believe I have watched almost every one of them, if not all of them. I enjoy watching the athletes, not only to see them compete but to hear their stories as well. Each Olympic Games there are redemption and disappointment stories. To see each athlete represent his or her country, or sometimes other countries, is a source of pride for those countries and is perhaps even a uniting factor.

         Currently, the medal count of the top five countries is:

  1. United States: 27
  2. Russia: 26
  3. Canada: 24
  4. Norway: 22
  5. Netherlands: 22

       In these games, there are a total of 88 nations competing from various locations across the globe. The Winter Olympics this year in Sochi, Russia have almost come to a close, as they will end on Sunday, 2-23-14 with the closing ceremony. As always, the Olympics have been quite a show, and have paved the way for the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and the 2018 Winter Olympics in PyeongChang, South Korea.

57499_1_olymp_big